RSS

What Gives Me Strength

30 Dec

The lives of human beings can have moments of strength and moments of weakness. But some people may refuse to acknowledge their weak moments. However, in life, it is inevitable that there will be challenges and moments when it seems that the dream you wish to pursue is lost; or it could be that you simply lose a reason to fight.

Strength is an extremely broad term. It could take a lot of form. It could be of different aspects. However, the most important kind of strength is the strength of the will. As Mohandas Gandhi aptly puts it, strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.[1]

To properly conceptualize strength, I have this idea that a person who has convictions exemplifies a strong person. He takes a position he chose while guided by his morality, conscience and rationality. But more than this, he maintains such position as he believes in it. As James Freeman Clarke said, all the strength and force of man comes from his faith in things unseen. He who believes is strong; he who doubts is weak. Strong convictions precede great actions. Moreover, a strong person is someone who is also inherently resilient and is able to cope with challenges of life and of the society; and at the end of the day, recover from any adversity in life. In someone’s weak moments, it is then that he must have faith in the person that he is. He must believe that he has the ability to overcome any obstacle standing in his way. In the general sense, your beliefs—limiting or otherwise—are everything. They’re the core factor in determining what you can and can’t do, and the level of success you have in your life.[2] It is during the time when he finally gets through the life challenges that he will realize then what a stronger person he has become.[3]

Frankly speaking, I usually feel strong physically, psychologically, and emotionally. I could attribute this feeling to a lot of reasons and factors such as my youth, and emotional and psychological outlook among others.

I’ve experienced being on the other side of the fence. I myself have had both moments of strength and moments of weakness.  In my two decades of life, I’ve been through a lot. I’ve been through moments of despair and disappointments. I’ve lost friends. I’ve lost love ones. I’ve failed. I’ve been misunderstood. I’ve been weak. But as the Bible says, my great strength is revealed in weakness.[4]

I was able to better gauge my strengths and weaknesses when I entered law school. My life has really changed the moment I finally entered these hallowed portals of the College of Law. Every passing day has been a struggle. Interestingly, my professors have the special talent of making me vulnerable.

In such moments and circumstances, I get my strength from two things: from the very thought and fact that there are people who believe in me, and from prayers.

During the roughest days of my life so far, when I seemed to have a lost some friends because of some of my acts and of some of the decisions I had to make, there were people who have firmly kept their faith in me. Luckily, there have always been people who are capable of understanding me.  I could testify to the fact that friends take a significant role in the course of personal and social development.

I am likewise grateful of the fact that there are people who always try to understand me and my decisions no matter how difficult it (the understanding) could be. Surely, I have done wrongs. I have committed mistakes. I have done wrongful decisions in life. But it is the thought per se of having someone to lean on, or who is capable of understanding me, that gives me strength. My loyal peers are always there. I have a good support group that will surely help me get through the dark days of my life. These people have always believed that I am mature enough to make my own decisions. They have let me commit mistakes essential to becoming a better person. They have always been by my side, backing me up or even advising and criticizing me in a positive way.

More than anyone and anything else, I have a supportive family. They comprise most of the extremely few persons who have the enough patience to understand my rants and disappointments. I usually express my disappointments to my family. Yes, including my inevitable and inescapable disappointments while in law school. On their end, my family always says the line “Sus, kaya mo yan. Kaw pa.”  On top of anyone else, my mother has never failed to make me feel her presence and support. I always

Secondly, I get my strength from God. Prayers never fail.  Truly, those who hope in Yahweh will renew their strength. They will soar as with eagle’s wings; they will run and not grow weary; they will walk and never tire.[5]And besides, a prayer is also a good way of evaluating oneself. Evaluating oneself could very well lead to self-development. And this self-development is essentially that of becoming a “stronger person.” It is therefore safe to conclude that praying leads to strength—spiritual and otherwise. In fact, the first thing I did during the very first day of class in law school is to pray at the chapel. I basically asked for strength and guidance. I was certain that law school will be such a challenge for me. Luckily, I am surviving. And in a general sense, I am happy and content. He answers my prayers. With Him and my family, I am


[1] YI, 11-8-1920, p3

[2] Dave Navarro, How to Become A Stronger Person

[3] Lynn Brown, Don’t Ever Stop Dreaming Your Dreams

[4] 2 Corinthians 12:9

[5] Isaiah 40:31

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
